Opinion | Jesus would protect immigrants. Michigan should, too.

Rev. Nathan Dannison is Senior Minister at First Congregational Church of Kalamazoo; Bruce Roller is executive director of United Church Outreach Ministry in Wyoming, Mich.; Dona Abbott is branch director of refugee services for Bethany Christian Services in East Lansing (courtesy photos)

As lifelong Michiganders, we have dedicated ourselves to serving the people, families and communities of Michigan. As faith leaders, we believe that all people, regardless of who they are or where they come from, should be treated as children of God.

For many of us Michiganders, it has been a harrowing experience to watch the attempts to terminate Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) and end Temporary Protected Status (TPS). Experiences like those of Daniel Caracheo, a pre-med student in Grand Rapids who was in chemistry class when he heard his DACA status was in danger.

In Michigan, immigrants are an integral part of our communities. They are the nurses and doctors in our hospitals, the police officers and firefighters protecting our cities and towns, the teachers who educate our children, the farm and restaurant workers who feed us, and on Sundays they are our fellow worshipers.

Currently, there are 6,430 DACA recipients in Michigan, and removing these productive young people from our workforce by terminating DACA would result in an astounding $418 million annual loss from our state GDP. Nationally, the termination of DACA will remove over 685,000 workers from the economy and result in a loss of over $351 billion from 2019 to 2028.

Alternatively, allowing Dreamers a pathway to citizenship has the potential to increase the national GDP by at least $281 billion and as much as $1 trillion!

DACA was enacted in 2012 to give work authorizations and reprieve from deportation for immigrants that were brought to America as children. TPS was established by Congress in 1990 to grant legal status to people from specific countries facing ongoing conflict or natural disaster. These are truly lifesaving programs and our Michigan Congressional delegation must act to continue them.

Members of Congress introduced the Dream and Promise Act of 2019, giving Dreamers and TPS and Deferred Enforcement Departure holders, including over 17,000 people in Michigan alone, a hope for a safe and permanent future here in the U.S. This legislation would come as a much-needed reprieve, an opportunity for those living in uncertainty to continue to study, teach, work and drive without constant fear of deportation.

We must continue to seek solutions that allow our friends and neighbors in Michigan to permanently remain and continue their positive contributions to our state and our nation. And Michiganders already agree that this is the right thing to do: polling released last week showed 78% support a path to citizenship for Dreamers and TPS holders, including majorities of Republicans, Democrats, and independents.

Jesus told His followers, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and all your soul, and with all your strength, and with all your mind; and your neighbor as yourself.” (Luke 10:27) His message is clear - we must love immigrants as we love ourselves and we must protect them from harm.

We were all once immigrants in this great nation, and we must continue preserving the values that strengthen our country. We urge all Michiganders to ask our members of Congress, Republican and Democrat, to support the Dream and Promise Act, to provide protections for those who are in need.

In a time when hate plagues our state and nation, we urge our legislators to lead by example, and fight against those who seek to harm those who are most in need. We must stand together to protect the American people, including those who have sought refuge and opportunity in our great state and our great nation.

Bridge welcomes guest columns from a diverse range of people on issues relating to Michigan and its future. The views and assertions of these writers do not necessarily reflect those of Bridge or The Center for Michigan.

Like what you’re reading in Bridge? Please consider a donation to support our work!

We are a nonprofit Michigan news site focused on issues that impact all citizens. In an era of click bait and biased news, we focus on taking the time to learn both sides of a story before we post it. Bridge stories are always free, but our work costs money. If our journalism helps you understand and love Michigan more, please consider supporting our work. It takes just a moment to donate here.

Pay with VISA Pay with MasterCard Pay with American Express Donate now

Comment Form

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments

Hehans
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 8:28am

What put of illegal don't you understand? I'm sure if someone broke into your home in the middle of the night you would invite them to stay for a month. No, you'd call the POLICE!
Come on, I thought you were smarter than this.

Richard E. Henderson
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 8:47am

As a concerned citizen I believe the law is the law and if you entered the United States illegally you are subject to deportation period. I am tired of hearing excuses. Leave and come here the right way.

Cheryl Lattin
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 8:51am

This is fine if they have come here legally. Otherwise, I feel they have abused our system. So No, I don't agree.

NF
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 9:04am

How about we take care of our own citizens before we take care of illegal immigrants!

Lennie
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 9:05am

Nice oped but try to accept a bit of criticism. The root cause is the problem, not result. Never going to change the geography of the planet. But as long as politics and politicians exist, some will thrive and some won't. You can agree or not with Trump and his and other's objections to Mexico's blatant ignorance of the result of allowing passages but no matter what stat you show, somebody pays. But that doesn't touch that root cause. There is a heriarchy of benefits depending upon citizenship. Label it greed because we live at or near the top. But to absorb those that want better while sounding noble just won't work. If you want to change things, pressure Honduras, Venezuela, the rest to get their house in order. But to blame us for "hate" is just a phony guilt shift. Any day panhandlers look for handouts outside casinos. I don't know if all or any are hungry or just losers looking for one more pull of the handle. Along that same, are those running the border all for political freedom or just a free meal? 7 billion on the surface, can't save them all. About the only thing that is effective is sharing technical knowledge. Not emptying pockets. Sorry.

Arjay
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 9:17am

There is a difference between LEGAL and ILLEGAL immigrants. We accept legal immigrants and a lot go on to be doctors, engineers, and other highly qualified people that out nation needs. There is a system to admit temporary workers for many job openings that go unfilled. Yes, there needs to be attention by congress to the number of temporary visas allowed, but there is a legal system.

What we don’t need is hordes of invaders, estimated to be greater than 11,000,000, entering our country, taxing our resources, waving their flags, and demanding access priority over those waiting patiently in the legal system.

And there is also something in our Constitution about the freedom of religion which includes freedom from religion. If certain church leaders want to act as politicians and lobbyists in the name of their church, then it is time to revoke their tax exemptions.

LT
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 2:53pm

Very well said. Amazing how many people think the same yet nothing seems to change. Frustrating

J Hendricks
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 9:33am

Regarding the Dreamers: yes, we need to solve this. These people were not responsible for their situation and they should not be caught up in this no win situation. Trump offered solutions, but of course the Democrats would not have anything to do with it.
Regarding the TPS - the operative word here is “temporary”. How many decades after a natural disaster do these folks get before they go back home? Or is this just a clever way to by-pass normal immigration procedures.
And regarding the plight of the poor and the needy who wish to come to the US - do it legally. Line jumping is grossly unfair to all those following the rules and waiting patiently in line. If we are to let anyone in who gets to the border, the question has to be asked - is there any outside limit or number we should let in? Everyone in the world?

John
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 10:07am

By encouraging and baiting them to leave their homes and families is not serving. It is careless and cruel!

Peter
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 10:25am

Thank you to these three faith leaders for speaking up. Dreamers were brought here by their parents when they were children and growing up in America is the life they have known. I hope our U.S. Senate and president will recognize this by passing and signing the Dream and Promise Act, so they can lead fuller lives and contribute more fully to our country.

Yvonne
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 11:58am

Lie, lie, lie, President Trump was very eager to support DACA!! It was Democrats who rejected President Trump!!!

Yvonne
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 12:05pm

Please stop distorting scripture to suit your socialist agenda!!

Anonymous
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 12:35pm

Kudos to these authors. I support their position 100%!

john white
Wed, 06/05/2019 - 7:10am

who?
nobody is anonymous...

Linda Looney
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 12:37pm

I totally agree with this article. I know one of the writers personally and can attest to the work being done. I will contact my state officials and let them know how I feel!

Ed Haynor
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 1:10pm

The real shame regarding this opinion piece titled, “Jesus would protect immigrants,” is the many responses from readers with misleading information, politicizing the truth, and hate-related responses. Come on malcontents, at least have some courage to take on Jesus! You can’t can you? And you probably call yourselves Christians.

Yvonne
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 1:52pm

Jesus was not a "feel-good" bleeding heart. Every message he spoke was about accountability. If you love yourself hold yourself accountable, if you love your neighbor hold your neighbor accountable. Jesus would never tell anyone to break the law, enter a country illegally. False teachers teaching false Christianity, wolves in sheep's clothing!

Ed Haynor
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 6:23pm

Jesus was a champion of the poor, the weak, the humble, and those oppressed (sounds like an immigrant doesn’t it?). Jesus rejected conservative repressive dogma. That’s why those in power at the time, both the religious hierarchy and the Roman oppressive empire (sounds like a republican, doesn’t it), had him killed.

shame on you
Sun, 06/09/2019 - 2:54pm

Jesus forgave sinners, again and again. He said you without sin cast the first stone. Think about your own transgressions and repent. We are all brothers and sisters.

Tom
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 4:05pm

Having a differing view does not equal hate. Way to try to shut down dialogue.

Todd
Mon, 06/03/2019 - 9:22pm

Why is it that you leave the key word out when describing illegal aliens?

ILLEGAL!!! We are all fine with immigrants. It's the law breaking ILLEGAL ones we aren't fine with.

Mike Lacy
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 6:30am

Christ obeyed all of the Roman, and Temple Laws.

"Render unto Ceasar that which is Ceasar's. Render unto God, that which is God's."

Modernist, Leftwing re-imagings of Jesus is what leads to "churches" marrying same--sex couples, and other horrendous apostocies, like blessing abortion clinics.

Jesus would obey the law. He obeyed all of Rome's laws, and Rome was slaughtering innocents in its Colliseum for entertainment in His time.

Study more. "Feel" less.

Your "feelings" are irrelevant.

Concerned Citizen
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 10:33am

Hey author, do you take constructive criticism?
You do not let the wolf into the flock because it looks like it is in need....

shame on you
Sun, 06/09/2019 - 2:47pm

You seem to be implying that someone is a shepherd while other fellow human beings are animals. Or are you a sheep afraid of other sheep, seeing them all as wolves???? Ever read about the Good Samaritan? Those were the words of Jesus.

BhavaJim
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 10:37am

What a shallow understanding of the Bible and a naivety of the Geo political powers behind the NGOS that fund and orchestrate the mass migration crisis in Europe, and at the southern border. This is part of the centuries old multigenerational plan to enslave each and everyone of us through the establishment of a totalitarian fascist one world government, communist one world economy run by the vilest of capitalists, and, a Luciferian one world religion. It is anti human, anti American, and anti Christ.

Jesus Christ
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 10:54am

Since you're gonna bring in a religious viewpoint, I'd like to ask you why my Father made a heaven and a hell? How come God don't just let everyone into heaven including the devil & those that follow him? Wouldn't the devil be classified as an immigrant being as he used to live in heaven but was cast down to earth after his Sin/Pride AND a battle he and a 3rd of his Angel's lost? Why didn't God just allow him to stay up there?? Why would God say Woah to the inhabitants of the earth after throwing the devil down here??? Would God the father want his Church to allow the devil to join them? After all God kicked him out of heaven, and my Father's word says "I am not a man that can lie" also "I am the same yesterday, today, and forever I do not change!" I remember my Father giving me specific instructions "which I gave to you" as to how you must enter into the kingdom of heaven through faith in the work on the cross!

Lastly, before my last breath on the cross, I remember having a conversation with two thieves, why would I say to the one thief and not to both that today you will be with me in paradise? Why didn't I extend paradise aka the kingdom of heaven to both immigrants?

Lily
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 10:54am

Jesus absolutely will protect legal immigrants. He'll protect illegal immigrants too, but He would expect them and everyone else, to obey the laws of the land.

Matt
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 11:08am

There are plausibly 2 billion people on Earth that live in much less fortunate circumstances than do we here. What do we owe them? Do they have the right to immigrate here? If they can't afford the trip should we be required to bring them here at our expense? I'm curious how you believe we should parse this or draw any lines in this thinking.

Michael
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 11:11am

Jesus would call upon thus nation to honor the Father and end the killing if the unborn, bring forth the sanity of two clear and distinct genders, speak unto the leaders that we do not dilute the Truth by importing every genre of belief system, but that hold fast to what is good and we discern the spirits if that which desires to enter in with great concern for the methods of entry and the extreme evils of lawlessness..

Rj
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 12:44pm

Jesus wouldn't approve of abortions either but I haven't seen that article from you yet!

Zerubbabel
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 1:39pm

Would Jesus take in refugees to provide housing assistance and financial stipends, while allowing the homeless seniors, youth, families, and veterans on the street? And as far as Luke 10:27 is concerned, you are not loving your neighbor when you provide for a stranger while passing the homeless on the street.
The USA doesn't have unlimited resources to supply every country's need for relocation. For example, there's a lot of Muslims migrating here. There's a lot right there in Michigan. They left their country by choice, not from being killed or tortured. There are thousands of Christians being slaughtered in Africa, Pakistan, and India. Have you considered helping them who have "death" over their heads daily?
Besides which, I was never an immigrant as I was born here. When people of a particular Faith begin initiating to you what their book of religion says, it will be too late for you to take any action.
There are more immigrants here than you can imagine, even with diseases, and you will bear the burden of any deaths as a result of your position and decisions.
God loves all people, but you can't fit an ocean into a lake without a horrific ending.
Let's get America back on track as opposed to fighting foreign interpretations and manipulations by helping who we have here already. There's a spiritual war you're not seeing.

Noel Baum
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 2:11pm

You are using Jesus as a way to promote the progressive democrat agenda. Illegals overwhelmingly vote democrat in elections. That is why Dems try so hard for illigals. You do get that right? As for using Jesus for your goals. Are you sure it's not misplaced compassion. I know a girl who is in her 20s she is a DACA child. Brought here at 4 years old. What else can you do with these people. Here is home to them. But as we are seeing today. Children are being used by adults they are not related to get into the country, we are making it very easy for people to get asylum, we are simply catching and releasing because there is no more room. By allowing this people will and we have seen parents risk loosing their kids to slavers and the human trafficking sex industry. Women are attacked and raped. Men are murdered. Family's help captive by cartels. So are you actually loving your neighbour. Perhaps it would be better to help fix some of these countries. Send our armies there to stamp out the gangs instead of the middle east. Make elsalvador a better place. Give them a reason to stay and fight for their own country instead of risking thier lives and the lives of their children. Supplying gangs with buckets of money. No. You are not preaching love. You are preaching politics.

Maggie King
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 2:40pm

My spiritual hero was my Nana, a lifelong member of the Congregational Church of Brattleboro VT.
And she would have agreed with you completely.
So many religious groups lately have become entrenched in exclusion. Of gays, of immigrants, of public schools and of ANY governmental aid to not just the poor but immigrants of any legal status.
And undocumented immigrants add close to $1 trillion annually to Social Security via use of fake SS#. And that doesn't include payroll, income tax, unemployment taxes etc or the contribution of their paychecks to the economy.
That old saw, "WWJD?" has been twisted and warped by many non-denominational congregations. But I am heartened by the Methodist youth that refused to be confirmed in a church where everyone be was not welcome and by my grandmother's church stand, she'd be proud of y'all.

Maggie King
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 3:02pm

Excuse me folks. The author is talking
mainly about children born legally in the US. Or raised here and contributing to our nation.
Did you know that almost half of "illegals" are people who have overstayed a legitimate tourist, work or school visa? And the backlog in the courts is years! They are NOT swarming the borders, they are working and providing and paying taxes, spending their paychecks into the economy, taxes into school districts, into SS. And they cannot access ANY federal aid programs UNLESS a legal child qualifies. And ONLY the child gets aid, not the undocumented immigrants.
If you want to round up all these visa overstays, their families, and all asylum seekers AND the undocumented, imprison them for YEARS til courts process deportation, expect trillions of OUR tax dollars to be spent!!! Good for you, you made your point! You really showed them what kinda Christians you are! The kind that says, " I got mine, and you don't deserve a chance, you broke man's law, and you gotta go, even if you are a child, or a youngster.....go back. My ancestors had the opportunity and you don't. "
Your ancestors didn't have to bow to volumes of laws, the US welcomed whites to populate the Midwest and West....now the pie is smaller. And we old white ppl are scared. Get over it- the future is here.
"WWJD?" According to posts here, these "Christians" would throw em all out, no good moochers!!!
Y'all need prayer.

B
Wed, 06/05/2019 - 6:39am

Very well said. I agree with you 100%.

Bernadette
Thu, 06/06/2019 - 9:20am

Thank you Maggie, you nailed it. The currency of the President is fear. He is supposedly going to MAGA, and the comments here show you what he and his blind followers have done.

Rock Struble
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 4:07pm

What about the ones who follow Allah and the Koran murdering American's shouting death to America

Kal Torak
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 4:07pm

Would Jesus use the tip of a Roman Spear (government) to force citizens to pay for illegal immigrants? The answer is No. Jesus would not use government to force citizens to comply with giving up their wealth through government to support a non citizen. Citizens through their good deeds would do this on their own without being taxed to do it. We are a nation of laws and in being a sovereign nation what laws am I or any citizen of the United states allowed to break?

Jay
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 4:22pm

Your numbers are fraud.

Sm
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 4:31pm

Jesus also died so the sins of murderers, thieves, molesters, etc. , Etc., Would be forgiven and thereby potentially allowing them to die without punishment in the afterlife for their mortal sins. So should Michigan also just forgive and not punish murderers and molesters like Jesus?... And it is funny that for all the positives they list, it hasn't happened yet even though illegals have been coming .... Nor do they list the vast negatives.... Or that Jesus has no place in enforcing the law.

A.K. McNeil
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 4:40pm

No Jesus would not protect ILLEGAL ALIENS. Stop the what would Jesus do crap. Why don't you go back and read the bible. Look into what Jesus did when people where defiling the temple.

Stop thinking that Jesus was this weak guy that did not support law and order.

Mark Vander Sande
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 5:59pm

We are were not immigrants...

Our parents or grandparents might have been, and they entered our country legally

Legal immigrants deserve our respect

Illegal immigrants deserve our respect too..but they are here illegally, that means they broke the law.

So in our respect, there is the reality they are criminals, and they deserve to be treated as such.

We can love, but there are consequences to crime...there shouldn't be a magic wand to erase the crime

sbg
Tue, 06/04/2019 - 10:30pm

Fake moral outrage by these pastors and a true exploitation of the language. Americans are kind and generous and like Jesus, encourage moral and ethical behavior from people. Legal immigrants cannot be inflated with the huge variety of people who are illegally crossing our border, many with illegal intentions and behaviors. PS - I am wondering if these religious leaders are out there reminding people that Jesus wouldn't kill babies.

Neal Brown
Wed, 06/05/2019 - 12:18am

It's fine to give shelter to immigrants. But they must immigrate to this country through the proper channels, No shortcuts!! They must go through the vetting process to make sure they aren't a threat to the citizens of the United States of America! If they try to sneak in then I will applaud our government for sending them back to where they came from.

B
Wed, 06/05/2019 - 6:26am

First of all, ignoring the whole jesus aspect, no one is asking why. If illegal immigration is at an all time low, why is this even an issue. If you do your fact checking and research you will see that the majority of immigration is legal and benefits the country. Instead of working out ways to streamline the pathway to legality we are being fed hatred of brown people. How does a country formed of immigrants, not understand these issues? So by all means, take back the jobs they are stealing, you go ahead and get up at 3am to pick mushrooms for 2 dollars an hour and let's see you make a living.

john white
Wed, 06/05/2019 - 7:13am

this entire premise is false as the economic assuptions do not count for the dynamic side.....ie, there would be AMERICAN citizens replacing those here illegal and contributing to the economic impact....

Anonymous
Wed, 06/05/2019 - 7:28am

Jesus don't give a dam about the other nations! All he cares about is real Israel not this fake Israel! You people don't read the Bible and are nothing but lieing devils!!!!

Alex Wassell
Wed, 06/05/2019 - 10:42am

Jesus doesn't want you to abort babies...

G864
Wed, 06/05/2019 - 12:51pm

So the state employs 107 people per DACA recipient? That sounds like an exorbitant waste of resources. But, yeah let's raise that gas tax to fix those damn roads, right? No room for trimming elsewhere...
Your purported state GDP suggests that 100% of those DACA recipients are individually responsible for $65,000 worth of GDP output.
If they're already working, as you say, does becoming a citizen suddenly make them more productive? You completely fail to qualify why allowing a path to citizenship would suddenly and magically increase GDP.
So you say there are 6,430 DACA recipients in Michigan, but three paragraphs later you say that the legislation you're backing provides relief to 17,000. Who are the other 10,570? Why do they get to piggyback on the DACA "children" who would then become the minority of the cohort?
You site a poll that alleges 78% of Michiganders support this move, but the sample group was just over 1,200 people in Macomb county. There are nearly 9.9 million people in Michigan. Stop offering the opinion of 1/100th of 1% as substantiating proof that everyone is on board with this. **This should be a ballot issue**
The "we were all immigrants once" mantra needs to go away. Are we fortunate that many of us were born in this great nation? Yes!! But why do we diminish our stake in our own country by being apologetic for circumstances of origination that are beyond anyone's control?
I wish these people no ill will at all. But I will not prioritize their advancement over any other group. If they want equal treatment and to be viewed as citizens...then they need to become one the way the laws require currently. We owe them nothing. What they owe us?... let's tally up the cumulative out of pocket costs to Michigan and US taxpayers for benefits given to illegals in the last 20 years. I think they owe that money back at some point.

Bones
Wed, 06/05/2019 - 5:17pm

Gotta say, this is by far the worse comment section I've ever seen on a Bridge article; you myopic lot would find good company amongst the Pharisees, demanding obedience to the law while turning a blind eye to justice. You all enjoy a high standard of living because of the exploitation in the countries these immigrants have fled from. May you never need to depend upon the mercy of others

mira vanzandt
Wed, 06/05/2019 - 10:33pm

Amazing how the left uses religion for their ideology justification. .

THE STAMPEDE AT OUR SOUTHERN BORDER:
Lets see, we have Democrat / Socialist / Activists in the Northern Triangle of South America & Mexico; even as you read this instructing the populations the "benefits" & laws of coming to the USA and to make sure you bring your children and use the the magic words....."credible fear."

Then you have a Democrat House saying the crisis is "manufactured" as literally thousands attack our border daily? National Sovereignty is a myth to Democrats. The crisis is manufactured...by the Democrats themselves. Make no mistake about this, Democrats want this to happen and never stop.. They will with hold border security support allowing as many illegal aliens to enter the country as possible overwhelming our BP & ICE before assisting in border security (if ever).

THE LIE OF TPS / DACA:
To Democrats/Progressives/Socialists (whats the difference?) programs like Temporary Protective Status (TPS) or Deferred Action for Childhood arrivals (DACA) or the "visa lottery" program (Chuck Schumer's idea) are permanent programs. There is nothing "temporary or deferred" about these programs to Democrats. These programs are designed to admit refugees (usually from the third world) then Democrats fight to keep them here permanently using the charge of racism, religion, guilt, against anyone opposed. Simple formula works great.

The current migration at our border is costing taxpayers a Kings ransom. Fleeing persecution? or fleeing for freebies? they sure don't stay in Mexico when they reach "safety" or ask or offered political asylum in Mexico. Why? because Mexico will give them NOTHING. So they make the long journey to our border, our generous Democrats, and our tax dollars.

Democrat 2020 Platform & Goals:

-Open Borders.
-Sanctuary Cities.
-Elimination of ICE
-Disarming Americans.
-Infanticide.
-Voting rights for illegal aliens.
-Pack the courts with radical liberal judges (Like the 9th circuit)
-Increase refugee's from the third world.
-Illegal aliens allowed to hold public office.
-Socialism.
-Free Abortions for all (Taxpayer funded)
-The green new deal.
-End of Electoral College
-Free Medicare care for all including non citizens (taxpayer funded)
-Raise Minimum Wage
-Have adolescents vote
-!00% free college for all, including non citizens. (tax payer funded)
-Reparations for every race "harmed" by the white man.
-Convicts, Terrorists voting.
-Susie & Bobby using the same restrooms.
-Late term abortions.
-Pay check for every person in the US even if they choose not to work.

*Sources: Straight from the Democrat's mouths.

jim fox
Wed, 06/05/2019 - 11:30pm

Lets see, we have Democrat / Socialist / Activists in the Northern Triangle of South America & Mexico; even as you read this instructing the populations the "benefits" & laws of coming to the USA and to make sure you bring your children and use the the magic words....."credible fear."

Then you have a Democrat House saying the crisis is "manufactured" as literally thousands attack our border daily? National Sovereignty is a myth to Democrats. The crisis is manufactured...by the Democrats themselves. Make no mistake about this, Democrats want this to happen and never stop.. They will with hold border security support allowing as many illegal aliens to enter the country as possible overwhelming our BP & ICE before assisting in border security (if ever).

To Democrats/Progressives/Socialists (whats the difference?) programs like Temporary Protective Status (TPS) or Deferred Action for Childhood arrivals (DACA) or the "visa lottery" program (Chuck Schumer's idea) are permanent programs. There is nothing "temporary or deferred" about these programs to Democrats. These programs are designed to admit refugees (usually from the third world) then Democrats fight to keep them here permanently using the charge of racism, religion, guilt, against anyone opposed. Simple formula works great.

The current migration at our border is costing taxpayers a Kings ransom. Fleeing persecution? or fleeing for freebies? they sure don't stay in Mexico when they reach "safety" or ask or offered political asylum in Mexico. Why? because Mexico will give them NOTHING. So they make the long journey to our border, our generous Democrats, and our tax dollars.

middle of the mit
Thu, 06/06/2019 - 7:15pm

To the authors, I am sorry that this is the reception you received. Unfortunately I can not say that I am surprised.

For as much as this country wants to be a Christian Nation, we fail to understand Matthew 25. The lesson of the difference between sheep and goats.

Let alone what Ezekiel said in chapter 16:48 48As surely as I live, declares the Lord GOD, your sister Sodom and her daughters never did as you and your daughters have done. 49Now this was the iniquity of your sister Sodom: She and her daughters were arrogant, overfed, and complacent; they did not help the poor and needy. 50Thus they were haughty and committed abominations before Me, and when I saw this, I removed them.

Let alone what God said about helping the strangers throughout the Old Testament.

This nation is built upon individuals, and individualist attitude. At least that is what the current generations believe. What they are now finding out is that is wasn't individuals that built the country, it was all of us paying taxes to build the country. The problem now is that it IS an individualistic country and no individual thinks they need to help pay for anything they may or may not benefit from.

Which brings me to this point, I have heard it on this board that Jesus wasn't a socialist. You are right. He asked everyone to sell everything they have, give the proceeds to the poor and come and follow him. The rich man walked away sorrowful, for he had much wealth.

Acts 2:44 and Acts 4:38

You would be hard pressed to find an American that would join that Church. Especially the ones on this board.

May God bless you and your works.

Bob
Fri, 06/07/2019 - 11:36am

Our immigration system and borders are a mess. We have so many categories and all have problems :
1. People here on currently good or expired green cards, visas etc.
2. DACA kids- non citizen parents here, but the kids born in the US (the group the authors of the article seem the most concerned with)
3. Illegals here as singles or families truly looking for a better life
4. Illegals brought here for human trafficking, sex trade etc.
5. Kids brought here by "supposed" family but used as pawns to help what may be a "bad guy" or gang member into the country
6. Legal immigrants, many of whom waited a long time, were vetted etc. and hopefully become a productive US citizen
I realize we should have compassion on others. But I stand by the # 6 category which falls under the word "legal". We are a nation of laws. And currently our system of immigration laws, as well as control at our borders so we can enforce our laws, is a total mess. Washington keeps kicking this can down the road and needs to address it. Not everyone may like the outcome. But if rules and regulations are in place as well as a good border system and proper staffing, then the concerns of #1 thru #5 should be lessened. And hopefully the authors of the article can live with a comprehensive immigration system (which we desperately need) and yet continue to help those who are "truly unfortunate" or in need of care.

middle of the mit
Sat, 06/08/2019 - 10:00pm

"6. Legal immigrants, many of whom waited a long time, were vetted etc. and hopefully become a productive US citizen
I realize we should have compassion on others. But I stand by the # 6 category which falls under the word "legal". We are a nation of laws."

Are we though? A nation of laws that is?

And if we are a nation of laws, who makes those laws?

And then, who can change those laws in an instant?

As for the rest of it?

Fine employers and landlords that are enabling illegal immigration. Confiscate their belongings and case closed.

You do that to enough employers and half the battle is won.

This is what happened in the past https://www.usnews.com/news/national-news/articles/2018-01-22/is-ice-fin...

But some see a deliberate message in broad sweeps conducted this month, both in how ICE executed the recent raids and in its choice of targets. The 7-Eleven stores that were targeted tended to be in visible locations in cities and suburbs. They're collectively a household name, yet they're independently owned, making them easier targets while allowing the corporation to distance itself from any misdeeds – which it did in a statement. And while audits under Obama were frequently conducted by mail, with agents often only showing up to deliver subpoenas or collect documents, experts say, federal agents in this latest action arrived – if not in tactical gear – in ICE and DHS windbreakers, at times closing stores for 30 minutes or more.

"They wanted to make, in a very public way, that the old regime of lax – or what they would call laissez-faire – immigration policy is over, that a new sheriff is in town" says attorney Muzaffar Chishti, who studies workplace enforcement trends as the director of the New York University office for the non-partisan Migration Policy Institute. "It's consistent with that message."

In the past – and specifically during the Bush presidency – raids that harmed business interests provoked an outcry from employers that had come to rely on immigrant labor, especially in the agriculture and meatpacking industries, which had powerful lobbies in Congress. Although President Ronald Reagan had signed a law two decades earlier making it illegal for employers to knowingly hire or recruit people who are in the country illegally, large-scale enforcement actions weren't carried out in earnest until Bush. The industries saw the raids as a draconian response to what had become standard work practices, and they pressured lawmakers in the nation's capital to push back against such actions.

"A lot of people went to their senators and they asked, 'Why are you making life difficult for our people to comply?' So the Bush administration backed off that policy," says William Stock, an immigration attorney who advises both companies and employees, and who served as president of the American Immigration Lawyers Association in 2017.

These are the facts. Sorry. And if you didn't catch it in the paragraph above, they tell you that employers were complaining about the crackdown that Bush did, so he backed off and yet the article states that Obama did more.

And since we all know that the Great Immigration bill of 2006 never passed, and no bill would be allowed under Obama we are left with Trump. Any bets on a bill passing?

We are always going to have people from all over the globe coming here to try to make a better life, some to run from bad circumstances that they can not change and if it is our hemisphere it probably has something to do with our country and our corporations wanting to exploit their labor and land.

We need a policy that doesn't allow businesses to exploit US labor for foreign labor when there are clearly legal workers willing to do the work. A policy that allows businesses that can't find workers to bring them in and a policy that allows those here to stay and build there life.

Also we should think about an education policy that educates our kids so we don't have to bring in highly skilled workers.

Jim Fuscaldo
Sun, 06/09/2019 - 6:49am

As I recall didn't Jesus say, "Render unto Caesar that which is Caesar's, and to God that which is God's"?

S Dewey
Sun, 06/09/2019 - 2:29pm

As Jesus taught Paul, and Paul taught Timothy, if competing, the athletic must obey the tules, or cannot win. The hardworking farmer has the advantage of partaking from his crops before others. So this would follow that all follow the rules before obtaining any advantages.

Bonnie Zimmerman
Mon, 06/10/2019 - 11:39am

Jesus also said there will always be poor.
Jesus also said its better to teach a man to fish.
Jesus also said do not forsake wisdom especially as it seems many want to forsake the living here.