Opinion | I’m a doctor, and recreational pot is bad for Michigan

Donald Condit is a past president of the Kent County Medical Society and a clinical professor of surgery at Michigan State University.

Nov. 6: Michigan approves recreational marijuana. What you need to know.

Michigan’s doctors are worried. Michigan’s police are worried. Michigan’s teachers are worried. Michigan’s employers are worried.

Michigan’s parents, and all citizens, should be very worried.

This November, Michiganders will vote on Proposal 1, which would allow recreational marijuana smoke to pollute the air we breathe, harm vulnerable teenagers, and endanger our families and neighbors on the road and in the workplace.

The marijuana industry will make millions if Proposal 1 gets voter approval in November. They are spending millions, much of it from out of state, to fool Michigan citizens that Proposal 1 is okay.

It is not okay.

We can learn from the bad experiences in Colorado and other states which allow recreational marijuana.

Colorado doctors know what a nightmare this proposal would bring to our state. Yearly emergency department visits related to marijuana increased 35 percent after the legalization of recreational marijuana in 2013. Marijuana-related hospitalizations increased 72 percent. These patients are described as “scromiters,” for “screaming vomiters.” These are just two of the hallucinating drug-induced symptoms you don’t hear the marijuana industry mentioning in their well-funded campaign.  

Michigan doctors have paid attention to their colleagues’ experience in Colorado. The Michigan State Medical Society, representing over 15,000 doctors in Michigan, adopted policy opposing recreational marijuana legalization. We worked hard to ban smoking in public places in Michigan. Doctors don’t want the sickening smell of marijuana in the air we breathe, either, or, even worse, pot’s dangerous chemical Tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) in the brains of teens, drivers, workers and our patients.

Colorado public safety officials also know how serious things have become. And the families affected by tragedy and suffering feel even more pain from driving accidents and crime.

Marijuana-related traffic deaths when a driver was positive for marijuana more than doubled since legalization in Colorado. Drugged-driving fatalities doubled in Washington State following legalization of marijuana.  Yes, deaths. A 2012 summary of nine different national studies concluded drivers who test positive for marijuana or self–report using marijuana are more than twice as likely as other drivers to be involved in motor vehicle crashes.

Colorado crime increased 11 percent from 2013 to 2016. Organized criminals and gangs have found opportunity for profit in Colorado with the increase in demand for marijuana and the other drugs that follow. Drug addiction specialists know marijuana is a ‘gateway’ drug to worse things. Like opioids. Don’t let the marijuana industry tell you differently.

Colorado’s teachers and many parents have seen the damage increased availability of this drug has caused their students and children. Youth past-month marijuana use increased 12 percent compared to prior to legalization. Colorado youth now leads the nation in marijuana use. This drug can permanently damage teenagers’ brains.

Colorado’s employers have also seen the problems of drugs in the workplace with distracted and potentially dangerous workers on marijuana.  

If Michigan voters approve Proposal 1, it will be a message to our teenagers that marijuana is okay. This drug is not okay. Proposal 1 seeks to allow possession of 10 ounces of marijuana. Which could make 850 joints. Yes, 850. Or batches of drug-filled brownies.  Or seemingly harmless candies or snacks which hit the brain like a ton of bricks. Today’s pot is so much more potent, addictive and dangerous than in the days of Woodstock.

For our youth and families, and all of Michigan, please vote no on Proposal 1.

Bridge welcomes guest columns from a diverse range of people on issues relating to Michigan and its future. The views and assertions of these writers do not necessarily reflect those of Bridge or The Center for Michigan.

Like what you’re reading in Bridge? Please consider a donation to support our work!

We are a nonprofit Michigan news site focused on issues that impact all citizens. In an era of click bait and biased news, we focus on taking the time to learn both sides of a story before we post it. Bridge stories are always free, but our work costs money. If our journalism helps you understand and love Michigan more, please consider supporting our work. It takes just a moment to donate here.

Pay with VISA Pay with MasterCard Pay with American Express Donate now

Comment Form

Add new comment

Plain text

  • No HTML tags allowed.
  • Web page addresses and e-mail addresses turn into links automatically.
  • Lines and paragraphs break automatically.
CAPTCHA
This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.

Comments

Matt
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 8:25am

As a very strong believer in individual rights, freedom and responsibility and conflicted by this issue, it is funny how the Democrat interest groups are always the first to demand absolute zero percent lead, PFAS. mercury, BPA, GMOs etc. etc in any sample of anything whether any harm can be shown to be the result or not, are the same people pushing the greater availability and yes use of pot, with almost no concern to long term effects. Other than the state gets more money!

Bones
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 9:31am

I choose to ingest THC, I don't choose to ingest lead, PFAS, or mercury. THC is beneficial in small doses. Lead, mercury and other contaminants are harmful. Your argument is a laughable false equivalency

Matt
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 10:28am

I'd be willing to bet that you or science in general knows just as much and is so politicized about the long term physical effects of exposure to minute levels of any of the above substances as you or they know do about smoking pot so that your point is just self delusion.

fox1george
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 2:34pm

Matt, guess your all in on banning alcohol and tobacco, two things we KNOW are far deadlier than pot! (P.S. How has banning alcohol worked?)
I am voting for it for one simple reason: decriminalize it. Too many people's lives have been ruined by Nixon's criminalization of pot (which John Erlichman says he did to help destroy his perceived enemies: hippies and blacks).

Matt
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 3:56pm

No, George I don't see that I stated prohibition would be favorable (a straw man) anywhere. Instead just pointing out that we know little and nothing as to the harmful effects of long term pot smoking while at the same time the very same folks pushing this forward are having hysterical fits about GMO's, BPA and other substances that amount to parts per millions and billions with sketchy evidence of the human health effects. The question still comes down to whether society is better off accepting and yes sanctioning having more openly stoned people in our midst and to what way and how this approval or dis be manifested. Having thoughtful conversations on this is probably beyond our capability especially with a ballot proposal.

Not George
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 5:44pm

Matt, you seem to believe only hard-left leaning radicals believe in decriminalization. I disagree and see this issue as one of equal protection. If alcohol and tobacco are legal, why not marijuana. Clearly The Doctor writing this article has never tried grass and has no clue what he’s talking about. You’re obviously fond of moral equivalencies, so I ask you, how is marijuana any worse socially than alcohol? If it is not, then either both should be illegal; or neither.

Matt
Wed, 10/10/2018 - 9:56am

No I know lots of libertarians (right wing) that favor legalization, and nor do I favor criminalization, I have zero interest in spending tax dollars chasing potheads. Nor can one say having an increasingly and openly stoned population is good for society either. The issue, I see is whether we go from crime to a major open industry in one step. Speaking of moral equivalencies just because you have one substance reeking havoc on society doesn't necessarily require that all other substances be given a wide open door too.

Jeff
Wed, 10/10/2018 - 11:35am

Right on Matt. Law enforcement already has to deal with lots of incidents related to alcohol/opioids consumption. Are we making society better by legalizing recreational pot or throwing gas on a fire? I am in my late fifty's grew up in the 1970's and saw my lives derailed by pot use. I will be voting NO.

Random
Sun, 10/14/2018 - 10:33am

Your lives ? Is you a cat?

Drgoodgrass
Sun, 11/04/2018 - 7:24pm

Me too but I've used for 40 years and I've seen no evidence of your delusional fearmongering statements.

Peter
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 10:21am

Trying to frame this as a partisan issue is disingenuous and unhelpful. There are many conservatives and Republicans who favor legalization and many liberals and Democrats who oppose it. This liberal Democrat opposes it, for many of the reasons the doctor gives.

Matt
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 4:02pm

You are right. I should have limited it to "almost all Democratic candidates" are in favor of this proposal!

D. Robinson
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 5:17pm

Many of those reasons are not based on fact. And they have been proven over and over again but they still use these arguments again and again. It has been proven it is not a gateway drug. That was started back in the Nixon administration. I am 65, been smoking on and off for 51 years. It has not made me move up to harder drugs, didn't do anything to my brain. It didn't change my DNA yes they said it would change your DNA. Anything to scare you away from something that they didn't understand. This plant has been here on Earth for thousands of years. It has been used by the native people all over this Earth including the Chinese since the beginning of time. Nobody has ever overdosed, had their dna changed, or any of the other lies associated with marijuana or marihuana.

peter
Sun, 10/14/2018 - 11:51pm

you are just simply wrong that it is not a gateway drug. The pot used now is much higher THC than when you started and your claiming there is no overdose is blatant disrespect for the 2 year old that recently went into a coma from ingesting edibles. You do not know if your DNA has changed. The fact that you did not start on harder drugs is simply anecdotal. there are proven pathways. 30% of youth experiencing first episode psychosis from pot will transfer to a schizophrenic diagnosis. You don't know what you are talking about. If you have been smoking for 51 years (since you were 14) who knows how much more you could have become.

Kathy
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 9:30pm

Matt that just about sums it up. Well said.

Quentin Reader
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 8:34am

I recommend listening to Dr. Condit. Where it has been tried, legalization of pot has not been a solution to any problem.
Also, in a conversation with a county clerk recently, I learned that court officials are very concerned about legalization because they see the effects of drug and alcohol abuse every day. Making marijuana legal for recreational use will only exacerbate the issue.

Bones
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 9:32am

It's a solution to people of color being imprisoned for something white people do without any real fear of prosecution

Human
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 12:16pm

I would not recommend heading the words a person who is financially invested in prescribing pain meds to his patients.

D. Robinson
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 5:20pm

Or heeding his words either.

Drgoodgrass
Sun, 11/04/2018 - 7:31pm

Yea I don't coming from dr death prescriber he has a reason to not be in favor of legal weed he won't be able to push his poison!

Otis Pishaw
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 8:43am

Alcohol does far more damage, shouldn't we get rid of that first? The ban on marijuana has been basically ineffective and sales of pot are done by criminals with safety controls.

Chuck Fellows
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 9:01am

The good doctor needs an education on the importance of context and the need to seek out data from more than single sources. Also, fear mongering is a really bad tactic these days since people can do their own research into the claims being made in this opinion piece.
Voters, seek out facts with solid references. Far more troublesome for our society are opioids and alcohol. Most of the objections to marijuana use exist because individuals like this Doctor have blocked honest evaluation of marijuana and its many uses, one of which is the treatment of seizures; another serious anxiety issues.

Mary M
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 10:08am

The doctor refers specifically to the problems associated in other states with the recreational use of marijuana. He does not impugn the medicinal usage.

D. Robinson
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 5:30pm

No the federal government has blocked any kind of research with marijuana. After 10 years of treating epilepsy illegally the FDA has finally okd it for that use. Because the FDA okd it's use, it now has a legitimate medical use so it can't be classified as a schedule 1 drug anylonger. This btw was done in the last week.

D. Robinson
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 5:32pm

No the federal government has blocked any kind of research with marijuana. After 10 years of treating epilepsy illegally the FDA has finally okd it for that use. Because the FDA okd it's use, it now has a legitimate medical use so it can't be classified as a schedule 1 drug anylonger. This btw was done in the last week.

KathyinMichigan
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 9:27am

The larger concern should be about opiods.

Coolsheet
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 9:38am

And explain to me how the symptoms here are worse than alcohol.......

You anti-pot smokers are blubbering one-sided idiots.

Most of those scromiters have an allergic reaction.

And yeah look at Colorados economy, it's doing so bad right? Then look at Michigan. Completely blue collared and underpaid. Look at CA!!! They have one of the strongest economies in the world and were the first to adopt "medical" cannabis. They're doing horribly right? GTFOH

CJ008
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 11:00am

Of course California also has the highest poverty rate in the country, but who cares about poor people...
Actually, I’ll probably vote yes, and I agree that this is a very narrow minded point of view, but I’m not impressed by the reasonableness or the veracity of your arguments.

D. Robinson
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 4:28pm

The highest population of poor is not California, it's Ohio, check it out for yourself . Don't spew facts when in your ignorance are not facts at all. Don't compare numbers when you are talking about the most populist state it isn't fact and has no bearing on our conversation.

Therb
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 9:54pm

Populous maybe?

Matt
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 1:36pm

Honestly I don't care how much pot you smoke, and definitely prefer you're not housed at tax payer expense because of it , but let's get a count on how many junkies and meth heads started out smoking pot?

And Ya, I'm sure that the shlubs working in the pot bars are hauling down the big bucks!!!!

ozzfest
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 8:52pm

I wonder how many started out with alcohol or tobacco.

SeriouslyDumbfolks
Sat, 11/17/2018 - 2:19pm

How about lets get a count on the countless lives ruined ny opiate addiction! How many junkies and meth heads had normal lives before ending up where they are? Has nothing to do with weed. Btw, what does the shlubs working at the pot bar have to do with any of this? Are you disparaging them bc you assume them to less educated than most or are you simply pointing out minimum wage workers, etc. ? I dont get your point. Smoking pot is NOT a precursor to harder drugs.

It creates jobs, revenue, taxes. Marijuana is beneficial for a myriad of reason, go tell the people suffering from cancer, seizures, ptsd, depression, chronic pain that medicine does nobody any good. You people with your limited fucking knowledge drive me nuts. Dr this Dr. that, whatever. Pot doesnt change DNA, my hell! How long has marijuana been around...(hint: it wasnt the 60's) think real hard for a second. Ha.. changes your DNA, thats some funny stuff right there

Thomas E Graham
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 9:39am

First off, two honorable people can look at the same issue in two different lights and have conflicting opinions without disrespecting the other person. Please don't construe this comment as disrespect toward the doctor.
The problem with the Doctor's arguments is that they assume legalized pot isn't already in Michigan. A medical marijuana license is incredibly easy to get and most kids who want it already get it. I don't smoke pot, I don't want my kids to, but it's already here and there is a criminal element to it that is putting lots of non-violent offenders into prisons for years, effectively destroying far more lives than driving under the influence ever has. Pot is addictive, pot is not good for children, and the mass majority of people use pot responsibly.

Lennie
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 10:09am

I find it interesting that while the doctor makes claims with stats he doesn't bother to provide any validation.

Guess this is one of those time where statistics are nothing more than numbers with lies attached to them.

Dave Davis
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 10:12am

All Bullcrap..vote yes on prop 1

Bob Pratt
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 10:21am

I've been a Licensed Michigan Paramedic for 36 years. I've never seen a single death from Marijuana: NOT ONE! I've never seen an overdose on pot: NOT ONE!
I've treated dozens of opiate overdoses: several of them died. I've treated scores of alcohol overdoses: many of them died. Many more caused assaults, car crashes or suicides.
Legalize it, control it and tax it!!
VOTE YES!

Jim
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 10:37am

The effects of prohibition of alcohol was worse than the legalization of it. The data I look at tells me that the prohibition of marijuana is the same, prohibition is worse than legalization. Both alcohol and marijuana have putative beneficial effects. The highly addictive, but still legal, drug nicotine has none. If nicotine had been prohibited I'm certain that the results would have as deleterious as the prohibition of alcohol and marijuana. Instead through a very effective PR campaign the use of nicotine has been greatly reduced . The alcohol industry is now too powerful and could easily subvert any PR campaign to reduce consumption, but if we had a an executive office and legislature capable of walking and chewing gum at the same time they would be working on a PR campaign to reduce the use of marijuana before the marijuana industry get just as powerful as the alcohol industry.

Jonathan
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 11:50am

Wow, what a hit piece. Thanks for including absolutely no data to support your opinion. I'll be voting in favor of.

Smiley
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 11:52am

This is right out of Marijuana Madness!
Tell the truth, no reason to lie.

CardinMi
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 12:01pm

Well he just discredited himself as a medical professional.

"Michigan’s doctors are worried. Michigan’s police are worried. Michigan’s teachers are worried. Michigan’s employers are worried.

Michigan’s parents, and all citizens, should be very worried."

What a bunch of 1920s Reefer Madness propaganda. The real life events of the already recreational states slap this article in the face. There is zero credibility in this writing.

Sickening smell
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 12:20pm

Go back about 80 years, replace every reference to pot in this article with alcohol.

Certainly, the end of civil society is nigh...again.

John Q. Public
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 12:24pm

When we have legislative bodies which ALL respect the Constitution and forbid, instead of enable, the police from abusing the civil and property rights of the governed, I'm right there with you, Doc.

Until then...

Notyerbro
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 12:39pm

Just shut up bro.

D. Robinson
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 1:40pm

This doctor is full of s***. No one in the history of the world has ever overdosed on Marijuana, period. Marijuana is not physically addictive like alchohol or even cigarettes. Legalizing it takes the criminal element out of the equation. He is a doctor of ignorance and lied for every paragraph he wrote. Legalizing takes away the prison time and criminal records. These politicians are going on heresay, what they have heard, and not real first hand experience, rumor is not fact. This doctor hasn't experienced what he described in the hospital, he is not an Emergency Room Doctor. The public has heard for years how Marijuana helps cancer patients deal with nausea, he said it causes screaming vomiters. I am 65 years old I smoked it first when I was 14 years old. I don't recommend that young. In my 51 years as a smoker I have never heard of a condition known as "screaming vomiters" from smoking marijuana. I have never gone on from it to another harder drug, so much for the gateway drug bullshit. Dr. Sanjay Gupta, a brain surgeon believes it may just help the opioid epidemic. It stops the withdrawal symptoms. That's kinda like a reverse gateway. So many for so long have been telling lies about marijuana and the people telling these lies have absolutely no first hand experience on Marijuana, know it all about nothing, ignorance... That's how it became illegal to start with. Remember Reefer Madness? Legalizing it keeps it out of the hands of people under the legal age. Look at the breakdown of how the taxes will be split up. The split is right in the law, period....so much for roads, so much for schools etc. The tax will work like this 12 percent marijuana tax and 6 percent sales tax on top of that. Legalizing it gets a handle on it.

RL.
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 2:40pm

fOR MEDICAL REASONS YES TO MINIMIZE THE PAIN. I hald lost family to drugs, yes Mary J and more. Fill you life with as much joy and helping others as you can. It I believe it can be harmful to kids. Peace R.L.

D. Robinson
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 5:57pm

You lost people to drugs.....not a plant. Drugs and plants are not interchangable. One has nothing to do with the other. You did not lose anyone to marijuana, did you? Because it is absolutely impossible. Sorry for your lost.

This Is Laughable
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 3:39pm

These Doctors and Police are only afraid because their prescription pills and road pirate funds are going to be cut in half. That is the only fear they have.. Sorry boys. It will be state legal next month and there is NOTHING you can do about it. Time to quit killing people with opiates. And bust out the 30 year old rape kits and cold murder cases. Time to do some real work.

Drgoodgrass
Sun, 11/04/2018 - 7:46pm

You hit the nail on the head! It time the police did their jobs not go after the lowly nonviolent pot smoker and let dangerous criminals have a free for all, they are just afraid that they might have to confront somebody that's on real drugs with guns and have to find another reason to arrest people for waking up black or Mexican in Michigan.

Drgoodgrass
Sun, 11/04/2018 - 7:47pm

You hit the nail on the head! It time the police did their jobs not go after the lowly nonviolent pot smoker and let dangerous criminals have a free for all, they are just afraid that they might have to confront somebody that's on real drugs with guns and have to find another reason to arrest people for waking up black or Mexican in Michigan.

Barry Visel
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 3:50pm

Once again Bridge allows commentary from one side of the issue but doesn’t seek out commentary from other viewpoints for a side by side comparison of thoughts. Leaves me wondering.............

I’ll vote NO for two reasons. 1. No one I’ve talked to an say the 60’s version of pot is still available, and 2. Our sales tax rate is 6%, and that’s all that should be charged.

D. Robinson
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 5:48pm

Barry first of all you based your opinion on ignorance. Pot from the sixties is still available. You can still get Columbian, Hawaiian etc.. Second the taxes are as follows 6 percent sales tax. 10 percent excised tax with specific uses. 35 percent for roads, 35 percent for education 20 million per year for research etc. written right in the law.

Stephen Reinhardt
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 4:02pm

Criminalizing it hasn't stopped it. We need to treat drug and alcohol abuse as a sickness, not as a crime. We waste so much taxpayer money paying our police to find and arrest people who who have done nothing more than take a smoke of marijuana and then waste more money incarcerating them and then waste even MORE money in welfare for the broken family that lost a parent/provider. All the while people legally drink themselves into a stupor because we tried prohibition with alcohol and it failed.
If we treat drug addiction as an illnesses in stead of a crime then people who suffer from addiction might just be more likely to admit a problem and ask for help if they don't have to fear being arrested.

Guy
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 4:29pm

Marijuana does not cause hallucinations. Otherwise it would be a lot more fun.

Paul Jordan
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 4:42pm

The legalization of marijuana will not mean that operating under the influence of THC will be tolerable any more than operating under the influence of alcohol is tolerable. If someone fails a field sobriety test during a traffic stop and THC is later found in his body then he should be arrested.
Yes, businesses that automatically fire people who test positive for THC will have to change to focus on firing people who test positive for THC AND who are impaired in their job performance. This shouldn't be burdensome and, in fact, will correct the injustice of firing someone who is an unimpaired worker who just happens to also smoke marijuana.
Prohibition--criminalization--hasn't worked. It is time for us to try something else.

D. Robinson
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 4:48pm

This doctor only speaks of Colorado because he does not want you to know that other people in other states voted it in as well. States like California, Vermont, Washington, Washington DC, Alaska, Nevada, Oregon, Massachusetts, Maine and Oklahoma. And 4 more this November. Including Michigan. The doctor lies or omits facts, paragraph after paragraph using his standing as a doctor to mislead.

Zac
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 5:33pm

Is this a joke? I’ve never heard less compelling arguments for anything. Colorado is experiencing a stronger economy than nearly any other state in the nation. Drugged driving arrests are going to increase when you legalize a drug precisely because there are new enforcement initiatives implemented by local authorities. If teenagers are at risk because marijuana is made legal for adults, then legal alcohol should also be repealed as it puts teenagers at precisely the same risk. I do not strongly support marijuana legalization, however until alcohol is again made illegal, I can think of no reason why someone who prefers marijuana to alcohol should not have the equal freedom under the law. By any empirical review marijuana is a vastly safer drug.

Doug L
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 5:40pm

Dr. Condit mentions every possible negative impact of using marijuana, including several that I have never heard of.
Unfortunately, he fails to discuss the negative effects of putting people in jail for possession of a plant.
This is not an issue of bad vs good. It's a matter of choosing the lesser of two evils.
I'm voting for legal marijuana.

Matthew
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 5:52pm

I'm a librarian, and cannabis prohibition is bad for Michigan.

A precious few, self-taught doctors are familiar with cannabis and the endocannabinoid system. Fewer are qualified to opine on criminology and economics.

While it is true that more fatally injured motorists are testing positive in CO and WA for cannabis metabolites, it is not true that "Drugged-driving fatalities doubled in Washington State following legalization of marijuana."

ER visits, hospital admissions and poison control calls go up when consumers, parents and pet owners are less fearful of legal repercussions.

Cannabis usage rates rise and fall with no statistical relationship to cannabis laws and their enforcement, however, when cannabis use goes up, drinking and other drug use goes down, resulting in net public health and safety outcomes.

As a doctor, do you think living in fear of arrest is healthy?

If criminal prohibition is the optimal regulatory model from a public health perspective, why not prohibit junk food?

D. Robinson
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 6:15pm

This clown excuse me doctor says " it's so much more addictive then it was during Woodstock". That's a lie because it wasn't addictive then and it's not addictive now. Btw I was at Woodstock, I was 17 then I'm 65 now. These lies it'll change your DNA, you'll become addicted, it's a gateway drug actually in reality it will stop withdrawals from alcohol and opiates.. it's doctor who caused the opioid epidemic to start with. Over prescribing pain medication to make kickback from big drug companies. You created it doc marijuana will fix it.

The Brofessor
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 8:57pm

Let the scromiting begin! But seriously, there is a legitimate case to be made against legalizing recreational pot, but hysterical fear-mongering like this doesn't help. Everyone knows a pothead who's been smoking daily for decades, and they are not screaming, vomiting, hallucinating crazies who are on their way to heroin addiction. This kind of hyperbole really doesn't help the anti-pot argument.

John S.
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 9:50pm

The NIDA cites a report that chronic marijuana use among young adults is associated with reduced IQ. There are a lot of potential issues with marijuana that scientists will need to investigate and settle. If the proposal passes, let's hope that marijuana smokers do not become a nuisance in public places like drunks, cigarette smokers, and other substance abusers.
https://www.drugabuse.gov/about-nida/directors-page/messages-director/20...

ExPatMI
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 10:27pm

I think the opinion of HAND SPECIALIST Dr. Condit should be taken with several grains of salt. I'll take his opinion seriously if I want him to assess the issue with my wrist pain that lingers from a fall earlier this year. On this topic, I suspect political or religious affiliations have more to do with his attitudes than the impact of the unsupported anecdotal "evidence" he claims so worry him. I half expected him to claim smokers of cannabis would become possessed by the Devil and become no-good layabouts.

Just Bob
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 10:30pm

This guy is ridiculous.

Clifford Babcock
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 11:04pm

The writer sounds like a " casiNO/caSINo" proponent.

Jeff
Tue, 10/09/2018 - 11:58pm

Ho hum. Another shill doctor bought and paid for by Big Pharma writes a hit piece on a plant that will take money away from him and his friends

Dr. Giles
Wed, 10/10/2018 - 8:04am

Your position is laughable, at best. Welcome to the future, you joke of a Doctor. Good luck to you.

Jamie Cooper
Wed, 10/10/2018 - 8:53am

Doctors like this are exactly what's wrong with our healthcare system. Doctors like this refuse to listen to their patients, even when a majority of voters in Michigan voted in favor of medical marijuana TEN YEARS AGO. Instead, doctors prefer to push their political agenda on patients, instead of opening their minds to solutions that could actually help their patients and help address the opiate crisis they created. You, Dr Condit, are the perfect example of what is wrong with our healthcare system. You are speaking on a topic that you have absolutely no clue about and have no experienced cannabis legalization first-hand. And what kind of doctor spouts unsourced information anyway? Did you not learn in medical school how important it is to source your information?

I moved here four years ago from Colorado, the same year Colorado legalized recreational. Comparing Michigan to Colorado...Colorado is in a much better place than Michigan. They are generating a ton of revenue, that is benefiting the communities, the roads and the schools. This is exactly what our state needs right now. And we need a healthcare rehaul...where your doctors are no longer profiting on prescribing dangerous medications to patients and instead, offering healthier, natural alternatives to patients.

Dr. Larry
Wed, 10/10/2018 - 11:55am

Let’s go beyond the vitriol and critique Dr. Condit’s Opinions regarding legalization zing marijuana for recreational use. First, Dr. Condit’s reliance on anecdotal information about the so-called deleterious impacts of pot (often called hearay in legal discussions) is not evidence of anything. It is his opinion—nothing more. Second, reference to statistics about driving under the influence of pot need to be referenced and be put in perspective. Even if DUI’s related to pot have doubled following legalization (citation please, Dr. Condit’s), it is quite likely any Increase in the small NUMBER of driving citations related to marijuana will appear as a large STATISTICAL increase, but nowhere near Dr. Condit’s apocalyptic-like concerns. Finally, Dr. Condit’s logic is flawed. The fact that opioid, meth, or alcohol users may have smoked pot prior to the abuse of these substances does not indicate that pot use necessarily leads to or causes the abuse of these substances. If this were true, the states that have legalized recreational marijuana would, by now, be overwhelmed with drug addicts and alcoholics.
Had Dr. Condit submitted this to me in one of my graduate-level classes, it would have been returned with a failing grade.
Please vote Yes on Prop. 1.

Chris
Wed, 10/10/2018 - 3:33pm

It isn't a question of whether or not there will be no negative consequences to legalizing marijuana. I'm sure there will be some who use it irresponsibly, but those are the folks who are ALREADY using it irresponsibly. The real question is whether the potential negative effects of marijuana legalization outweigh the existing negative effects of marijuana prohibition, which are many. If a person decides to quit using marijuana, they can simply walk away. However a person can't simply walk away from a lifelong criminal record. Marijuana prohibition is truly a case of the 'cure being worse than the disease.'

Linda R
Thu, 10/11/2018 - 6:58am

I just saw Rick Steves (from PBS) talk about legalizing Marijuana in Michigan. He is a proponent of ending prohibition, and regulating cannabis across the country. There are so many great reasons like ending mass incarceration, begining real medical research and development of pharmaceutical cannabis, and having a healthier choice than alcohol. Cannabis was legalized in Rick Steves’ home state of Oregon 6years ago, and before it passed there were many hand-wringers worried about all the evils of pot. None of it happened. Everything is fine. Rick said all the things people were worried about and predicted did not materialize.

Vote yes on Prop 1.

Remember that Arizona missed legalizing by the narrowest of margins, and it was due to last minute propaganda ads paid for by Alcohol and Pharmaceutical companies.

PAUL LOESEL
Thu, 10/11/2018 - 9:02pm

Thanks to Medical Marijuana, I no longer take NORCO and FLEXERIL. I had a "failed back surgery" in 2009. Had I stayed on the prescription Big Pharma pills, these last 9 years, I am certain I would be an Opiate Addict by now. As far as Recreational use, I have never met a person who didn't use marijuana, that wanted to, short of work place urine tests. I highly doubt that tens of thousands of Michiganders will suddenly take up marijuana, as it has been easily available since the early 70's, for anybody that wanted it. Lock up REAL criminals. More people die from peanuts or aspirin, than marijuana. Do some research.

Fabian Vasquez
Sun, 11/04/2018 - 7:19pm

Give me a freaking break you fearmongering dr demento! It Drs like you who prescribe death and turn around and condem somthing you know nothing about,hypocrites! It's only 2.5 oz's not ten you moron!didnt you do your research? Go push your death dope of opioids and leave the peopl to decide on how they want to use alternative medicines that don't kill you or make you feel like your dieing!